Klamath Mountains

Go down

Klamath Mountains

Post by taixyz1992 on Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:12 am

The Klamath Mountains, which include the Siskiyou, Marble, Scott, Trinity, Trinty Alps, Salmon, and northern Yolla-Bolly Mountains,[1] are a rugged lightly populated mountain range in northwest California and southwest Oregon in the United States. The highest peaks are Mount Eddy (9025 ft / 2750 m) in Siskiyou County, California, Thompson Peak (9002 ft / 2744 m) in Trinity County, California, and Mount Ashland (7,533 ft / 2296 m) in Jackson County, Oregon. They have a varied geology, with substantial areas of serpentine and marble, and a climate characterized by a moderately cold winters with very heavy snowfall, and warm very dry summers with limited rainfall.[2] As a consequence of the geology, the mountains harbor a unique floristic region known as the Klamath-Siskiyou, which includes several endemic or near-endemic trees, such as Port Orford cedar (Chamaecyparis lawsoniana), Foxtail pine (Pinus balfouriana spp. balfouriana), Brewer spruce (Picea breweriana) and a small shrub Kalmiopsis (Kalmiopsis leachiana), forming one of the largest collections of different conifers in the world.[3] The northernmost and largest sub-range of the Klamath Mountains are known as the Siskiyou Mountains. The area is also home to a diverse array of wild fish and animal species, including nine species of salmonid, plus bears, large cats, and eagles. Physiographically, they are a section of the larger Pacific Border province, which in turn are part of the larger Pacific Mountain System physiographic division.

casino tips
live scores

Sleeping Sun
Sleeping Sun

Number of posts : 63
Points :
0 / 1000 / 100

Registration date : 2010-09-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum