Provinces and territories of Canada

Go down

Provinces and territories of Canada

Post by taixyz1992 on Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:13 am

The provinces and territories of Canada combine to make up the world's second-largest country by area. There are ten provinces and three territories. The major difference between a Canadian province and a territory is that provinces are jurisdictions that receive their power and authority directly from the Constitution Act, 1867, whereas territories derive their mandates and powers from the federal government. Similarly, in modern Canadian constitutional theory the provinces are considered to be co-soverign divisions of the monarchy, and each province has its own "Crown" respresented by the lieutenant-governor, whereas the territories are not sovereign and are simply parts of the federal realm, and have a commissioner.

The ten provinces are Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan, while the three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.

casino tips
live scores

Sleeping Sun
Sleeping Sun

Number of posts : 63
Points :
0 / 1000 / 100

Registration date : 2010-09-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum